Our Mission

The mission of the Raleigh Historic Development Commission is to identify, preserve, protect, and promote Raleigh’s historic resources.

Quick Links

• Certificate of Appropriateness (COA)


• Design Review and Guidelines


Next COA Major Work Deadline:
January 10


Contact Us

Raleigh Historic Districts


Designation of historic neighborhoods or communities as local historic districts is a successful tool for maintaining quality of life and providing economic security. Preservation has been proven to stabilize property values and stimulate new investment in older neighborhoods.

A Raleigh Historic District is a distinctive area, a place of singular historical flavor characterized by its streets and squares, buildings and trees, architectural design and landscape features. It may be monumental or simple, residential or commercial. There are currently seven local historic districts in Raleigh: Blount Street, Boylan Heights, Capitol Square, Moore Square, OakwoodPrince Hall, and Glenwood-Brooklyn.

RHDC is charged by the City Council to consider local historic district designation where appropriate. The City's 2030 Comprehensive Plan recommends the consideration of historic overlay district zoning for the Depot and Fayetteville Street historic districts.

Since the implementation of the city's Unified Development Ordinance (UDO), the commission has received many inquiries about character preservation overlays. For more information, visit our 2016 Architectural Survey Update page.

HOD Boundaries Map

Raleigh Historic Landmarks (RHLs)

On October 3, Raleigh City Council adopted ordinances for 4 new Raleigh Historic Landmarks. READ MORE

Historic Overlay Districts (HODs)

Oberlin Village is being considered as a General Historic Overlay District (HOD-G).  READ MORE



Read our latest newsletter

Certificates of Appropriateness (COAs)

Deadline dates for the 2017 COA meetings have changed!  The revised schedule and deadlines document has been posted here.